Skip to content

Ominous Typo

November 5, 2012

I was doing some writing for Tattoo a few days ago.  Just because of where I am in the story, there happens to be a lot of killing on the part of the protagonist.  Emotions are high and he isn’t handling it well.  Well I was going over the conversation and fighting ideas I had just written down and I read something that honestly shocked me.  In the place of the protagonist’s name, I had written my own without even realizing it.

Throughout the entire process of writing this story, I was well aware of the emotional and verbal similarities between myself and the protagonist.  It just makes writing for him a much more natural experience.  But I didn’t realize the connection was so powerful.  This especially troublesome when considering the point in the story at which this occurrence occurred.  This has led me to worry about the prospect of me being subconsciously homicidal.

Hopefully it’s not true and I’m just reading into an normal type too deeply.

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment